Raghad al-Abboodi | She Codes Too

Raghad al-Abboodi | She Codes Too

Raghad is someone who has followed her dream of becoming a software engineer, but not only that, she’s also helped other women follow that same dream.

Whilst completing a business course in 2020, Raghad got the inspiration for ‘She Codes Too’, a bootcamp that supports women in Iraq with their goal of having a career in the tech industry.

Having started as an idea, this has now transformed into fully-fledged in-person bootcamp that is expanding to other locations across Iraq, changing multiple lives! Raghad, you’re an inspiration!

Can you give us a brief overview of your own background and how you qualified as a Computer Scientist?

I am originally from Iraq and grew up in a small town near the ancient city of Babylon. I completed my undergraduate degree in computer science at the University of Babylon. After that, I was fortunate enough to get a scholarship to study for a Master's degree in computer science at the University of Bristol in the UK. As a requirement of my scholarship, I had to return to Iraq and work for five years as a lecturer at a university in Baghdad.

You mentioned that you’re originally from Iraq – can you share with us what some of the barriers are that women in Iraq face when looking to get into the tech industry?

Women in Iraq often face many barriers when considering a career in tech. Beginning with societal norms and expectations that usually steer them towards professions like medicine or teaching, rather than encouraging them to explore tech-related careers. Similarly, these norms and expectations may require women to stay at home, restricting their movement freely and travelling around the country, which can limit their ability to attend events like tech bootcamps or coding workshops.

Can you tell us a bit about the She Codes Too initiative that you created & how it works?